The U.S. Department of the Treasury imposed targeted sanctions on two government officials in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC): Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Interior and Security, Evariste Boshab, and General Administrator of the National Intelligence Agency, Kalev Mutondo.
These designations are based on actions or policies that undermine democratic processes or institutions in the DRC.
Today’s action follows prior listings in June and September. The United States government remains concerned about increasing repression by the DRC government and security services, including increased restrictions on the media and on the exercise of peaceful freedom of assembly.
“These are sanctions against individuals, not against the Congolese people”, said the release. While the two individuals designated are government officials, we call on all Congolese, including the opposition, to refrain from inflammatory rhetoric, violence, or actions inconsistent with democratic norms.
“We urge the government and opposition to reach an agreement on a path forward for credible elections”.  So he added.